Springsteen, De Niro, Hanks, Diana Ross and Michael Jordan among Obama's final Medal of Honour recipients


Bruce Springsteen, Robert De Niro, Michael Jordan and Diana Ross were among the 21 actors, musicians, sportspeople, scientists and others to receive the Presidential Medal of Freedom on Tuesday, as Barack Obama doled out the nation’s highest civilian honour for the last time before he leaves the White House.

Mr Obama has awarded some 114 Medals of Freedom in total, more than any previous President. Speaking at the White House ceremony, he said the awards were reserved for those Americans “who have lifted out spirits, strengthened our union, pushed us towards progress.”

He went on, “I always love doing this event. But this is a particularly impressive class. We’ve got innovators and artists, public servants, rabble rousers, athletes, renowned character actors – like the guy from Space Jam,” Obama said.

The actors in the group included Mr De Niro, Robert…


Read the full article from the Source…

Back to Top